Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Our Board

Profile image of Mike Blackburn OBE
Mike Blackburn OBE
Profile image of Jane Boardman - Board Member
Jane Boardman
Board Member
Councillor Gerald Cooney portrait
Councillor Gerald Cooney
Leader, Tameside Council
Profile image of Councillor Bev Craig
Councillor Bev Craig
Leader, Manchester City Council
Chris Gray headshot
Chris Gray
Board Member
Profile image of Vanda Murray OBE - Board Member
Vanda Murray OBE
Board Member
 Councillor Eamonn O’Brien portrait
Councillor Eamonn O'Brien
Leader, Bury Council
Mandy Parkinson headshot
Mandy Parkinson
Board Member
Councill Liz Patel headshot
Councillor Liz Patel
Councillor in Sale Moor, Trafford Council
Profile image of Councillor Nazia Rahman
Councillor Nazia Rehman
Councillor in Tyldesley, Wigan Council
Arooj Shah headshot
Councillor Arooj Shah
Leader, Oldham Council
Elise Wilson headshot
Elise Wilson
Board Member

Advisory Board

The Growth Company Board is supported by three Advisory Boards with external membership drawn from or approved by The Growth Company Board. The Advisory Boards cover the three main business areas of the organisation:

Chair – vacant post

Mark Hughes, Group Chief Executive, the Growth Company

Angela Harrington, Director of Inclusive Economy, Manchester City Council

Philip Robinson, Group HR Director, Renold

Marie Gilluley – Former College Principal and CEO

Radka Newton - Senior Teaching Fellow in Strategy and Innovation, Lancaster University Management School

Vanda Murray, OBE (Chair) - Chair, Yorkshire Water Services and Marshalls Plc

Michael Hartig, Managing Director - Head of Specialist Teams, Barclays Corporate Banking

Phil Jones, MBE - Managing Director of Brother UK Limited

Emma Sheldon, MBE - Non-Executive Director and Operating Partner, CEO - Innovestech, CEO - Healthcare World, Group Board Director - UK India Business Council, Chair - Oddarts

Jonathan Lawson - Director of Strategic Partnerships, Faculty of Business, Law and Apprenticeships, Manchester Metropolitan University

Mike Blackburn (Chair), Chair of Marketing Manchester and Manchester’s International Marketing Advisory Board

Adrian Ellis, General Manager, The Lowry Hotel

Ken O’Toole, Deputy Chief Executive, Manchester Airport

Alice Choi, Chief Operating Officer, McCann Health Medical Communications

Shaun Hinds, Chief Executive, Manchester Central

Adrian Ellis, General Manager, The Lowry Hotel

Jennifer Cleary, Arts Council, NW England

Professor Jennifer Watling, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for International, Manchester Metropolitan University

Luke Georghiou, Deputy President and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at The University of Manchester

Robin Phillips, Head of Siemens Advanta Consulting UK

Joanne Roney, Chief Executive, Manchester City Council

Cllr Bev Craig, Leader, Manchester City Council

Tom Stannard, Chief Executive, Salford City Council

Mark Hughes, Group Chief Executive, the Growth Company

There are four subsidiary Boards which retain legal, compliance and other responsibilities for their respective legal entities:

  • The Enterprise Fund Ltd (trading as Business Finance Solutions)
  • Chamberlink Ltd (trading as Business Support Solutions)
  • Challenge 4 Change
  • Recovery Works

In addition, the Group Board has two sub-committees:

  • Audit
  • Remuneration